Waves Of Distortion (The Best Of Shoegaze 1990-2022) 2CD

Waves Of Distortion (The Best Of Shoegaze 1990-2022) 2CD

Regular price£11.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date: May 5, 2023

Discs: 2

‘Waves of Distortion (The Best of Shoegaze 1990-2022)’ is a magical journey through the history of the Shoegaze scene from its inception to the current exponents on the scene championing the sound. A perfect introduction to all that is glorious and great about ‘Shoegaze’.

‘Waves of Distortion’ brings in some of the OG (original ’gazer) classics – Ride’s peerless ‘Vapour Trail’, Lush’s ‘Sweetness and Light’ from 1990 and Chapterhouse’s ‘Pearl’ from 1991. They are all incredible and timeless tunes. Then there are some others that were never really a part of that other great music press construct, The Scene That Celebrates Itself, in the case of The Telescopes and their fantastic 1991 single ‘Flying’, and Spirea X’s ‘Chlorine Dream’ from the same year – both are indicative of the post-rave psychedelia that coloured everything at the time and fit perfectly within the Shoegaze scene at the time. Since the turn of the century, successive generations have returned to the sound, taking it to new and exciting places. Thanks to the internet and streaming and listening to music without context the echo got louder and louder.

Listening to this compilation it joins the dots between all of the Shoegaze sound, from the beginning to the present day. The beautiful noise that has soundtracked the past 30 years and will continue to do so for many more.

1) Slowdive – Slomo
2) Chapterhouse – Pearl
3) Ride – Vapour Trail
4) Blind Mr Jones – Henna and Swayed
5) The Telescopes – Flying
6) Lush – Sweetness and Light
7) Spirea X – Chlorine Dream
8) Kitchens of Distinction – The 3rd Time we Opened the Capsule
9) Pale Saints – Sight of You
10) A.R.Kane – Lollita **
11) Airiel – In Your Room **
12) Lowtide – Alibi

1) Ringo Deathstarr – Kaleidoscope
2) Horsegirl – Billy
3) Air Formation – Daylight Storms
4) DIIV – Taker
5) bdrmm – A Reason to Celebrate
6) Flyying Colours – Long Holiday
7) Echo Ladies – Overrated – Robin Guthrie Version
8) The Daysleepers – Flood in Heaven **
9) Astrobite – Crasher **
10) Beach House – Lazuli
11) Mogwai – Kids will be Skeletons
12) Fleeting Joys – Go and Come Back
13) Ultra Vivid Scene – Mercy Seat
14) Galaxie 500 – Ceremony

** Exclusive Tracks to CD Format

Image shown is for illustration purposes only. Actual product may vary.