Wig Out! Freak Out! (Freakbeat & Mod Psychedelia Floorfillers 1964-1969) CD

Wig Out! Freak Out! (Freakbeat & Mod Psychedelia Floorfillers 1964-1969) CD

Regular price£11.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Date: Nov 10, 2023

Discs: 1

‘Wig Out! Freak Out!’, the latest compilation from Two-Piers, dives into the world of Freakbeat, Psych and Mod from 1964-1969. Pulling the cream of tracks from the UK & United States Freakbeat and Garage scenes of the time. Featuring tracks from The Sonics, The Kinks, The Action, Chocolate Watch Band, The Haunted, The Standells, Paul Revere & The Raiders, The Shadows of Knight, The Yardbirds, The Seeds and more ‘Wig Out! Freak Out!’ is packed full of Freakbeat and Mod classics as well as rare sought after nuggets.

Talking about ‘Wig Out! Freak Out!' Two-Piers compiler Mark McQuillan says "The album was inspired by my many happy DJ nights promoting my club night ‘Club Pod’ down in Brighton in the 1990s and my love of all things Sixties Freakbeat. I wanted to put as many great tracks as I could on one compilation to hopefully bring across the feeling sheer joy of spinning these awesome tracks in a club and seeing the place go off. This compilation isn’t supposed to be a rare crate diggers album, but rather a gateway to give listeners a flavour of the scene and allow them to go off and discover new and brilliant hidden gems within the Freakbeat and Mod Psychedelia genre, and if ‘Wig Out! Freak Out!’ does that job done!"

Aimed squarely at the Alternative & 60s Club Dancefloors ‘Wig Out! Freak Out!’ Kicks off with the fuzz guitars of The Sonics ’Shot Down’, The Standells epic ‘Dirty Water’, and lesser known gem '1-2-5’ by The Haunted, before taking you down a road of pure riotous Freakbeat joy with tracks by the likes of The Birds ‘You’re on My Mind', The Wimple Winch 'Save My Soul' and The Remains ‘Don’t Look Back’. Add the epic Freakbreat grooves of The Eyes ‘You’re Too Much’ and The Open Mind ‘Magic Potion’ an chuck in some brilliant covers by The Kinks, with their take on ‘Louie Louie, Paul Reeve & The Raiders sublime version of ‘I’m Not Your Stepping Stone, Girl group The Starlets garage cover of ‘You Don’t Love Me’, ‘Gloria’ reworked by The Shadows of Knight, and The Action covering ‘Land of 1000 Dances’ and making the track their own, and your feet can’t help but move. The compilation contains lesser known gems such as The Satans ‘Makin’ Deals’, Count Five ‘Double Decker Bus’, The Poets ‘Wooden Spoon’ and The Pirates ‘Cuttin’ Out’. It also takes a turn into Mod Psychedelic territory with the Hammond led grooves of The Quik ‘Berts Apple Crumble’, The Spencer Davis Group ‘I’m A Man’ and the glorious ‘Indian Rope Man’ by Julie Drsicoll, Brian Auger and The Trinity, before ending on the instrumental blues psych rock of Davie Allan & The Arrows ‘Blues Theme’ - a journey through the very best of Freakbeat and Mod Psychedelia at the peak of its powers 1964-1969.

1. The Sonics - Shot Down
2. The Standells - Dirty Water
3. The Haunted - 1-2-5
4. The Birds - You're on My Mind
5. Paul Revere & The Raiders - I'm Not Your Stepping Stone
6. The Shadows of Knight - Shake
7. The Starlets - You Don't Love Me
8. The Wimple Winch - Save My Soul
9. The Action - Land of 1000 Dances
10. Jacques Dutronc - Le Responsable
11. The Eyes - You're Too Much
12. The Remains - Don't Look Back
13. The Kinks - Louie Louie
14. Rita Chaos & The Quests - Hanky Panky
15. The Argyles - Farmer John
16. The Poets - Wooden Spoon
17. The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band - Shifting Sands
18. ? & The Mysterians - Up Side
19. The Third Bardo - I'm Five Years Ahead of My Time
20. The Chocolate Watch Band - Let's Talk About Girls
21. Count Five - Double-Decker Bus
22. The Satans - Makin' Deals
23. The Quik - Berts Apple Crumble
24. The Spencer Davis Group - I'm A Man
25. Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity - Indian Rope Man
26. The Hi-Fis - Tread Softly for the Sleepers
27. The Yardbirds - Stroll On
28. The Pirates - Cuttin' Out
29. The Seeds - Pushin' Too Hard
30. Davie Allan & The Arrows - Blues Theme

Image shown is for illustration purposes only. Actual product may vary.